U.S. Productivity and Quality Award for Virginia


Leadership Circle


Virginia SPQA is a 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Organization managed by a volunteer Board of Directors and is one of many state programs affiliated with the nation’s Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. In a non-partisan role, Virginia’s United States Senators serve as Honorary Chairpersons and assist in program promotion and recognition of Award recipients.


Virginia SPQA’s corporate By-Laws set its governance standards. Its Fiscal Year begins in November and ends in October. Directors and Officers serve annual terms and are elected or re-elected at its October Annual Meeting where budgets and other plans are adopted.
The Board of Directors sets policy and plans for day-to-day matters and the Program’s future. Board Members represent the vast array of Program constituencies and are responsible for ensuring Program sustainability and innovation. Board Members are subject to non-disclosure and other ethics requirements. Virginia SPQA files annual Internal Revenue Service non-profit tax returns available for public inspection along with filings to the Virginia Department of Agriculture’s Department of Consumer Affairs. Financial support comes primarily from modest participant fees and Sponsor donations. Members of the public are encouraged to contact us with questions about how the organization is governed and/or request copies of any public filings.

Board of Directors

Dr. Jan Garfield, Chair
Mr. Eric Fletcher, Vice Chair for Planning
Mr. Rick Christiansen, Vice Chair for Operations
Mr. Douglas Borden, Treasurer
Dr. Sandra Byrne, Secretary

Mr. Steve Bonk, Director
Mr. Bob Bowles, Director
Mrs. Claudia Butler, Director
Ms. Clyneice Chaney, Director
Mr. Rick Christiansen, Director
Mr. Eric Fletcher, Director
Mr. David Fuller, Director
Ms. Barbara Hopkins, Director
Ms. Kim Humphrey, Director
Ms. Marie Hussey, Director
Ms. Julia Lent, Director
Mr. Michael Levy, Director
Mr. Daniel Lucas, Director
Mr. Michael Pickels, Director
Dr. Mary Redd-Clary
Mr. Matt Smith, Director
Mr. Frank Watson, Director
Dr. George Yacus, Director

Webb Warner



In 1982, the United States Senate established its Award for Productivity and Quality for organizations which exhibit exemplary performance. Virginia’s effort is the oldest continuous program of its kind. Since its beginning, Virginia’s Senators have served as Honorary Chairpersons. This volunteer administered effort in support of the Award represents some of Virginia’s best efforts to improve performance across the board.

WebbSig WarnerSig
U.S. Senate U.S. Senate


Board Resources




Facebook BE A FAN Be an Examiner Be a Sponsor Be a Partner HOME